Skip to content

Are Many of the B2B Buying Decisions Emotional?

November 9, 2015

My last blog talked about showing an ROI.  Even then you still might not get the sale.  I have no real research whether most decisions are based on Logic or Emotion?  However, from experience and from what I have read, there are an extremely high number of big business decisions that are based on emotion.  Yet the big question is WHY doesn’t the average salesperson recognize those decisions as emotional and address them?

I have one client that showed by using their service the company could save over 40% in their costs, and the prospect still did not buy.  I have personally seen competitors give very deep discounts and still not gotten the business.

How many times have I heard from salespeople that they buy from me because I have a great relationship?   That means that the sale is based more on emotion than logic.  So salespeople rely on customers emotions, but don’t know how to use prospects emotions to get new business.  Instead they focus on building relationships.

Perhaps there is a fear of getting to personal, or fear of the answers.  People you can do it, and have very little to lose except showing a concern for your buyer.

Think about the last 10 large purchase decision you made either for your profession or personally.  Were they totally logical?  Your house, your car, or that new computer system in the office what lead you to the final decision to buy?  Yet I bet you told that salesperson that didn’t get the business that it was a matter of price or you were not ready to buy.  So why when you put on your sales hat do you think that the guy on the other side of the table is a totally logical unemotional decision maker?  There are other demonstrative reasons that are stopping him/her from buying.

  1. If I am wrong, what will my boss say?
  2. I really do not like this salesperson, and would prefer to buy from my current supplier.
  3. Everything sounds great, but I never heard of this company before and do not know if they can back up what they say.
  4. What they said is quite logical, but I have not heard the downside? I do not want to be caught blindsided.
  5. Great program but it is really a lot of work for me to get instituted, and I have other more important things on my plate that take a priority.
  6. Who else has done this? I don’t want to be first.
  7. I don’t like being a follower, and just because everybody else has it doesn’t mean that I have to take it.

There can be simple questions like:

  1. How has or will this decision affect you personally?
  2. How does this affect the job you are doing?
  3. How are your bosses judging your performance?
  4. If you were to take my product/service on how will this affect you?
  5. If you do not get this problem resolved what will that mean to you?
  6. Do you consider buying my product/service a risk? If so, what can we do to minimize?

I am sure you can think of many others.  If you have not addressed this issue you really should

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

